2015 Burton Hockey Hall of Fame Class Announced

It is our honour to announce the fourth class of Burton Hockey Hall of Fame inductees. A panel of seven Hall of Famers comprised this year's voters and selected two inductees. This marks the first year that the Hall of Fame inductions are conducted in concert with the year-end awards as intended. This will be standard operating procedure from now on.

Congratulations to our two newest inductees!

Lyle Detta (2000, 2002-05, 2009-11)
-Burton Original
-5th in all-time BUSH shutouts
-6th in all-time BUSH games goaltended
-7th in all-time BUSH saves
-4th in all-time Interleague goaltending
-Inaugural Goaltender of the Year (2000)
-2009 Comeback Player of the Year
-2011 Burton Championship Weekend Most Sportsmnalike Player
-2000 1st Team All-Star

Bron Mach (2005-2010, 2012-2014) (unanimous selection)
-VRH Original
-First VRH-exculsive inductee
-2nd in all-time saves
-2nd in all-time shutouts
-2nd in all-time games goaltended
-8th in all-time goaltender scoring
-9th in all-time saves per game
-10th in all-time goaltending
-2nd in all-time VRH saves
-2nd in all-time VRH shutouts
-2nd in all-time VRH games goaltended
-2nd in all-time VRH goaltender scoring
-3rd in all-time VRH goaltending
-4th in all-time VRH saves per game
-13th in all-time VRH games played
-4th in all-time Interleague saves
-4th in all-time Interleague saves per game
-5th in all-time Interleague games goaltended
-2x Goaltending Champion
-2008 Most Outstanding Player
-3x Most Outstanding Goaltender
-2005 Rookie of the Year
-3x 1st Team All-Star
-2x 2nd Team All-Star
-2009 Most Dedicated Team

HALL OF FAME MEMBERS (year inducted in parentheses):
Laird Bilinski (2012)
Lorne Bilinski (2012)
Lyle Detta (2015)
Justin Gordon (2012)
Kyle Grenier (2014)
Joern Hornhardt (2012)
Chris Jackins(2013)
Stefan Klopp (2012)
Bernie Koth-Kappus (2012)
Oliver Koth-Kappus (2012)
Kyle Kusch (2014, Builder)
Bron Mach (2015)
K.J. O'Connor (2013)
Seamus O'Connor (2012)
Graeme Orr (2013)
Lee Orr (2012)
Nathan Robson (2013)

-Candidates can be inducted into the Hall no earlier than the tenth season following their debut in Burton Hockey. For this year’s ballot, that means players who debuted in or previous to 2005 are eligible.
-Any non-automatic nominee receiving votes from more than 50% of voters will be inducted into the Hall and can only be removed by a majority vote of Hall members with legitimate reason.
-Non-playing nominees (‘Builders’) can be voted for in the write-in ballot.
-To vote for a player, write ‘YES’ in the box beside the player’s name and date.
-Players who do not get inducted but receive at least one vote will remain on next year’s ballot.
-Players receiving no votes will be dropped from next year’s ballot and will not reappear unless they are written in or they resume their Burton Hockey career.

OTHERS RECEIVING VOTES FOR THE 2015 BALLOT (these players will remain on the ballot for 2016):
Dustin Blair

NOT RECEIVING VOTES FOR THE 2015 BALLOT (these players will be dropped from the ballot for 2016):
Joe Chwachka
Andrew Cruden
Simon Hilton
Troy Waldron

NEW PLAYERS TO BE ADDED FOR 2016 BALLOT (all eligible players having debuted in 2006 or earlier with at least 30 games played, seasons played in parentheses):
Steve Cain (2006-2007, 2009)
Mitchell Detta (2006-2012, 2014)
Andrew George (2006-2009)
Jason Leung (2006, 2009-2010)
Andrew Watson (2006, 2008-2011, 2013)


News Archives